40 Comments
Aug 3, 2023Liked by Abigail Koffler

Hi! I’m Alicia, based in ye olde bushwick! Today for lunch I had some dinner leftovers (salmon, cous cous, broccoli) and frozen chocolate chips as a dessert 😂 I found TNHS through knowing Abigail I guess??? Huge fan! Finding small joy in ending the day with a treat while watching x-files with my boyfriend!

Expand full comment
author

hi neighbor! Frozen chocolate chips are so good, I also love a combo of chocolate chips and blueberries. See you tomorrow xo

Expand full comment
Aug 5, 2023Liked by Abigail Koffler

Hi I’m Erin in Washington DC.I had a sloppy Joe for lunch someone made for me yesterday (and it tastes better when others cook for you right?). I discovered you through Hitha Palepu’s Instagram account and you’re my favorite Substack read! I’ve appreciated all of the Brooklyn and recipe tips.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Erin!! Hitha is the best, so glad you found TNHS that way! Agree that it tastes better when someone else makes food for you, such an act of love! Thanks for being here!

Expand full comment

I’m Ron, in Queens, and for lunch today I had a three-meat sandwich (coppa, salami, and soppressatta) prepared by my local cheesemonger. I’ve been reading this newsletter for ages, can’t remember how I got started. I’m about 2/3 into the new season of Good Omens, and that’s pretty joyful, even if the story isn’t always.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Ron! I grew up in Queens, it's the best! Glad to have you here and finding a good tv show is a surefire source of joy!

Expand full comment

Hi! Liesl here from Brooklyn Park MN (a suburb of Minneapolis, very different from Brooklyn NY)

For lunch I made a croissant sandwich with garlic roast beef, Colby cheese, and lettuce and also had some Popcorners and mixed berries with a mini Kinder Bueno for dessert. I've been trying to bring lunches I don't need to heat up or assemble so I can enjoy every minute of my lunch break!

I heard about TNHS through FreshErica! I use so many of the recipes also from your summer cooking classes.

Something bringing me joy is watching my 6 month old scream laugh and giggle!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Liesl! I didn't know there was a Brooklyn Park in MN, so cool! And a croissant sandwich sounds so good! So glad to hear you're still using the recipes from our classes, we had so much fun teaching them! I'm going to see her and her sweet baby tomorrow!

Expand full comment

Hello - I’m Eden. Usually writing from Brooklyn, currently writing from Golden Canada while on vacation with my brother.

Enjoyed the local specialty, bison, for lunch in the form of shaved bison meat on a ciabatta with horseradish, cheese, and onions. My brother got the bison burger and we both agreed that my ciabatta was superior.

I found THNS via a shoutout from Julianne (@howtobebrokeinnewyork) and it has been such a joy reading the newsletter the last few years! Truly a highlight of my week.

My vacation is currently bringing me so much joy that I did not expect. I am an indoor/city person so exploring the wilds of Canada is not something I ever thought I’d do. Today I pushed aside my fear of being on water and canoed on Lake Louise - it was both scary and beautiful, as most challenging things are!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Eden! So glad you're enjoying a well deserved vacation, trying all the local foods, and stepping out of your comfort zone. I felt similarly when I kayaked in Maine recently, it was scary but worth it! And love having you here!

Expand full comment

It's Amy! I'm in Newton, MA outside of Boston. I haven't had lunch yet today, but I just re-stocked a granola I recently discovered (Michele's, from Whole Foods) and plan to have that with plain greek yogurt and a banana. Abigail is my cousin which is how I learned about TNHS, lucky me :). Yesterday brought joy as I spent it in Newport, RI at the Newport Jazz festival with my jazz obsessed husband and son.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Amy! I love a good storebought granola (hard to find) and will look out for that brand! Hugs to you all! xoxo

Expand full comment

Hi TNHS! I'm Grace, writing from Atlanta. It's not quite lunchtime yet, but I'm looking forward to some leftover pasta shells from date night dinner. I can't remember how I initially came across this Substack but I'm like 99% sure it was recommended to me and I smashed that Subscribe button immediately. The thing bringing me the most joy right now is hearing my dog do a big comfortable sigh as he naps beside me.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Grace! Love having leftover pasta, it's always a treat! I've been to Atlanta once and would love to go back! Thanks so much for being here!

Expand full comment

Hi - I'm Isa, born and raised in Mexico City but currently living in Park Slope. I haven't had lunch today yet but I'm going to make myself a lazy late breakfast berry yogurt parfait. I am honored to consider myself a TNHS OG - Abigail and I met in college when we were assigned to be co-editors of the food section of our school's Arts and Culture magazine and we've been super close ever since. Recently, going on walks in this respite from the intense summer heat with an iced latte in hand has been bringing me much joy!

Expand full comment
author

Hiii friend!! Sometimes a late breakfast can be lunch, we make the rules!! Loved starting my food writing career with the absolute best, F&D forever!!

Expand full comment

I'm Lizzi, I'm in SF, and for lunch had bucatini with charred eggplant and some burrata. I found TNHS through you my darling cousin <3

Something bringing me joy is the new hack I have at a local ice cream place: one scoop is $6, extra for toppings. But a sundae with three scoops, three toppings and whipped cream is $11. So I've been super into splitting a sundae with someone and getting all the toppings

Expand full comment
author

Hi Lizzi!! Miss you and that lunch sounds incredible! This ice cream hack sounds delicious (and financially very sound).

Expand full comment

Hi! I'm Lauren and live in NJ. Today I had two fried eggs with avocado on a slice of Mike's Killer Bread. It did the job! I found TNHS through Hitha...I think! I'm getting joy in daily walks, eating birthday cake, and my local swimming pool.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Lauren! Hitha is the best and happy belated birthday, love a summer birthday! I'm headed down to the Jersey shore later this week and can't wait!

Expand full comment

Hi! I'm Danielle from Juneau, Alaska. (Don't mind me drooling over your infinite restaurant options in NYC. I lived there during college over a decade ago.)

My lunch today will probably be leftover buffalo chickpea salad from the Plant Based RD blog in a wrap with cucumber and sprouts, with a homemade chocolate peanut butter protein bar.

I think that I found your writing through Alicia Kennedy's excellent newsletter. I took one of your pre-recorded meal prep classes and was hooked!

Today I'm finding joy in the fact that I have no plans this evening, and am probably going to pick blueberries in the woods behind my house after I finish work for the day.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Danielle! So cool that you're in Alaska, one of my new coworkers is in Kodaik and I love hearing her stories about living there! I love Alicia's newsletter too! Enjoy your no plans evening, those are the best!

Expand full comment

Hi, I’m Erin from Reno, Nevada. Originally from NYC though.

2. Not quite lunchtime here yet, but yesterday I had smashed Greek chickpeas from Trader Joe’s mixed with a little mayo, dijon and Frank’s on an everything bagel from Dave’s killer bread. Lunch today will be the leftovers.

3. I don’t remember how I found that newsletter but I subscribed because I had an upcoming trip to NYC and wanted to get your recommendations.

4. Joy this week is coming from my vacation starting tomorrow! Headed back to NYC for the week for various adventures, beach time and a wedding.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Erin! That lunch sounds delicious, everything bagels are the best bagels! I hope you have a wonderful trip back to New York, let me know if you need any recs!

Expand full comment

Hey Abigail! I'm Sophia and I'm located in Chicago.

For lunch today, instead of my usual hour-long kitchen escapade, I whipped up some packaged Momofoku soy scallion noodles I picked up from Foxtrot the other day. I had a meeting in 20 minutes so I had to make it quick!

I came across your newsletter from an old 2020 Substack article that featured you! I was worried that no one would ever read what I'm writing, but the article encouraged me to just go for it and build gradually.

Something bringing me joy right now is my Boston Terrier puppy, Simone. She can be a headache sometimes, peed on the carpet the other day, and has 100 mph zoomies, but it warms my heart to spend an evening cuddling with her on the couch.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Sophia! I've heard great things about those noodles, hoping we get a Foxtrot here soon! And wow, I'm so touched you were encouraged to start your newsletter, subscribing now! And there's nothng like puppy energy, lots of fun!

Expand full comment

Thanks so much for subscribing!

Foxtrot takes all my money and I’m not even mad about it. Hoping they open more up!

Expand full comment

1. Ilana, writing from the Lower East Side.

2. I had a rare lunch with colleagues at the Tacombi in the Financial District. Made me wish we had an office. I had a carne asada taco, a black bean and sweet potato taco and shared esquires and guacamole.

3. I honestly don’t remember where I found this newsletter. Time and the internet are hazy.

4. Lately I’ve found joy in teaching myself how to play the piano. It’s humbling as hell, I’m using a book made for five year olds, but it’s also freeing.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Ilana! Tacombi is a great office lunch, their black bean and sweet potato taco is really good! And agree that time is hazy! Extremely impressed that you've taught yourself piano, I love that!

Expand full comment

Hi there! I'm Katelyn and live just outside of Boston. Lunch was TJ's frozen gorgonzola gnocchi - a favorite standby on a call heavy work day. I'm so glad Instagram introduced me to Abigail and Erica's cooking classes which quickly led to subscribing to this newsletter! Joy-wise, my husband and I try to take early morning coffee walks (we're a Dunkin household) around our neighborhood on Saturday mornings and it's so nice to spend time together, meet people, and kick off the weekend.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Katelyn! Trader Joe's frozen foods are real lifesavers during busy days (I always have their veggie dumplings on hand). And thank you for being part of our cooking classes! That Dunkin walk sounds very joyful, their iced coffee really hits the spot!

Expand full comment

i’m mallory corum.

** greenville SC

** today i had a favorite salad from a local neighborhood spot — teriyaki salmon, marinated cukes, hard boiled eggs, wonton strips, homemade ginger soy dressing. it always hits the spot.

** been here so long i don’t remember how i found you! maybe back in garden variety days someone connected us?!

** joy is soaking in a hot tub with lavender epsom salts listening to my bath by candlelight playlist

Expand full comment

… that bath is happening as i type this 🧖🏻‍♀️

Expand full comment
author

Hi Mallory! Garden Variety was such a fun newsletter, loved working with you on that! And I'm so glad you got to unwind with a bath, major self care vibes!

Expand full comment

Hi! Emily, in Chicago.

Usually for lunch I have something homemade - yesterday was the Szechuan aubergines from the cookbook East + some fried tofu, delicious - but today was a rare bought-lunch day. Had a brie sandwich with greens on a baguette.

Honestly don't remember at this point where I found the newsletter?

I'm enjoying the perfect weather in Chicago this whole week. It's a little bittersweet given the weather disasters everywhere else and knowing it will inevitably be Too Hot here in the future but for now...all the long walks and patio beers.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Em! Okay the szechuan aubergine lunch sounds delicious, I love spicy eggplant. But agree that there's something nice about buying lunch sometimes, it feels like a treat! I share your conflicted feelings about the weather (it's finally not too hot here as well) but might as well enjoy it day by day!

Expand full comment

I’m Lauren, writing and farming in Surry, ME. For lunch, I had a hummus wrap w baby greens and leftover harissa cauliflower.

I found TNHS through a Substack article you was featured in back when I signed up (2020, I think 🤔) I thought the name was catchy and like your writing style. I’m also from NY and enjoy hearing about the good places to eat/snack at for when I visit.

Still riding the waves of bliss from a river trip last last weekend 🌊

Expand full comment

OMG- at first I wrote “Abigail was featured...” and changed it to you. Now I look like I have terrible grammar 😅

Expand full comment
author

Omg no judgement, we are all human! Your Maine life sounds dreamy, loved visiting earlier this summer and happy to provide recs for when you're back in the city! Thanks for being part of this community :)

Expand full comment

Thanks! Next time you're in my neck of the woods, LMK and I'll hook you up with some herbs and veggies :)

Expand full comment